User administration in the Vonage Contact Center Admin Portal

Administrators can perform the bulk of day-to-day user administration in the VCC Admin Portal using User Admin. However, administrators need to use other areas of the platform to complete certain aspects of user configuration. This topic provides an overview of modules and areas where supervisors and agents can complete various user-related tasks. In general, the areas involved when performing comprehensive user administration are:

  • User Admin—For creating and managing both agent and supervisor users.
  • Real Time—No longer supported. Real Time will be removed on September 6th, 2021.
  • User Access—For creating and managing supervisor users.

Administrators can click the respective menu items to access the above sections in the VCC Admin Portal. The following sections describe the differences between the areas and specific user administration features they offer.

In this page

User Admin features

We recommend that administrators use the User Admin area for performing most of the user administration related tasks. Administrators can manage usersboth agent and supervisorand assign them to skills, groups, and schedules. This section provides a brief overview of the area; for detailed information, see User Admin.

In the User Admin area, administrators can:

Create and manage agent and supervisor users

  • Set users' personal data, such as username, name, email and so on
  • Set the users' license status (license type, activity status)
  • Define agents', or supervisor users acting as agents', settings:
    • Logout settings
    • Callback (or outbound CLID) numbers
  • Configure routing settings:

    • Manage skills that an agent, or supervisor user acting as an agent, has
    • Manage groups that an agent, or supervisor user acting as an agent, is in
    • Manage the percentage of capacity used by different types of interaction for an agent, or a supervisor acting as an agent
  • Grant supervisor users access to use ContactPad as an agent
  • Reset users' passwords
  • Unlocking locked user accounts
  • Delete agent and supervisor users

Create and manage groups

  • Define group names
  • Add users to a group
  • Delete groups

Create and manage skills

  • Define skill names
  • Assign users to a skill
  • Delete skills

Create and manage schedules

  • Define names, select actions, and rules for schedules
  • Assign users to schedules
  • Delete schedules

Configure routing settings

  • Manage skills that an agent, or supervisor user acting as an agent, has
  • Manage groups that an agent, or supervisor user acting as an agent, is in
  • Manage the percentage of capacity used by different types of interaction for an agent, or a supervisor acting as an agent

Configure permissions

Define which groups of users, queues, lines, and so on, a supervisor user has access, or read or edit permissions, to

Real Time features

Real Time

No longer supported. Real Time will be removed on September 6th, 2021.

In Real Time, administrators can:

Monitor calls in progress

In Real Time, administrators can also monitor agent calls that are currently in progress. This feature is not available in User Admin.

User Access features

Administrators can use the User Access area mainly for configuring and editing non-agent user settings, as well as for resetting passwords for such users. The following are the main features differentiating User Access from User Admin. For more information, see Configuring user access.

Add links to additional accounts

Administrators can link a user account with additional accounts which they can control permissions for. 

Edit user permissions within individual accounts

Similarly to User Admin, User Access allows for setting group, queue and line permissions. Administrators can set granular permissions to specific areas of the VCC Admin Portal, such as applets or areassuch granularity is not available in User Admin.