User Admin

In the User Admin area of the VCC Admin Portal, you can manage your users, skills, groups, and schedules. You can manage users, skills, groups and schedules individually, or perform some management tasks on many users at a time. 

What can we help you with today? 

In this page

What are users?

A Vonage Contact Center (VCC) user is someone who interacts with VCC. A user's license determines the tasks they can perform. A Vonage Contact Center user can have one of the following licenses:

  • Agent. A user who can handle inbound and outbound interactions. In addition to their default access, you can configure agents to have access to their own call recordings or all call recordings.
  • Wallboard. A user who can view real-time data (in Real Time) but no other VCC Admin Portal features.
  • Supervisor. A user who can perform normal day-to-day call center tasks. A supervisor can access and perform limited tasks within Real Time, Dashboards, Stats and Reports and System Settings.

    Permissions

    Supervisor users can view and edit other users, groups and skills in User Admin according to their assigned permissions.
  • Admin. The highest level of Vonage Contact Center user. An admin user perform all tasks within the VCC Admin Portal including:
    • Creating interaction plans in Interaction Architect
    • Modifying System Settings
    • Linking a VCC Admin Portal account to Salesforce account.

    An admin user can also install Vonage Contact Center into Salesforce.

    Admin users can view and edit other users, groups, skills and schedules in User Admin.

ContactPad users

Users can have access to ContactPad or not. Access to ContactPad determines whether a user can handle inbound or outbound interactions, or perform any other tasks in ContactPad. By default, agents have access to ContactPad, and supervisor and admin users can be given access. If a user has access to ContactPad enabled, the user is known as a ContactPad user.

What are skills?

A skill is an attribute, such as a language, specific product knowledge and so on, assigned to ContactPad users and required by interactions for skills-based routing decisions. If enabled for your account, skills have levels. Levels indicate a user's proficiency in a skill.

To ensure that VCC routes interactions to users who can most effectively deal with them, create skills and assign those skills to users. Then configure your interaction plans to tag incoming interactions with skills that are required by users to handle them. In skills-based routing mode, VCC routes interactions to users who have the required skills. If enabled for your account, VCC takes users' skill levels into account. If two available users have skills required to handle a specific interaction, VCC will route the interaction to the user with the highest levels of those skills. If their skill levels are the same, VCC routes the interaction to the user who has been waiting longest.

For information about configuring skills-based routing, see Setting up skills based routing.

What are groups?

A group is a collection of ContactPad users. If you want to route interactions to particular groups of users, you must create groups and then add ContactPad users to those groups. You can then configure your interaction plans to route interactions to the groups using Automatic Call Distributor (ACD) and Universal Contact Distributor (UCD) applets.

Both applets route interactions to configured groups in the specified order, using the configured overflow settings. A UCD applet routes interactions to the most appropriate user in the applicable groups, based on skills that the interactions require and the skills that the users are assigned. For more information about ACD and UCD applets, see Automatic Call Distributor (ACD) or Universal Contact Distributor (UCD) applet.

What are schedules?

A schedule is a collection of rules that define when Vonage Contact Center will log ContactPad users out of ContactPad. Rules apply to the users who are assigned to the schedule. Schedules ensure that users are logged out at the end of their shifts, preventing Vonage Contact Center from routing interactions to users who are not available to handle the interactions.

If the rule encounters a problem when trying to log out a user, Vonage Contact Center will keep trying for up to 30 minutes. After 30 minutes, Vonage Contact Center stops trying.

Users can still log out manually. If the user needs to carry on working after the rule has logged them out, they can log back in to ContactPad in the usual way.

Schedules and intended states

If a user is handling an interaction when the rule tries to log them out of ContactPad, the rule changes the user's intended state to Logged Out. The rule changes the user's intended state regardless of whether the user's account is configured to use intended states. Vonage Contact Center automatically logs the user out when they finish working on the interaction, including any automatic wrap up time.

If a user is not handling an interaction when the rule tries to log them out of ContactPad, Vonage Contact Center logs the user out immediately.

What can I do with individual users, skills, groups, and schedules?

In User Admin, you can create, view, and edit individual users, skills, groups, and schedules. For information about these tasks, see Configuring individual usersConfiguring skills, Configuring groups, and Configuring schedules.

What can I do with multiple users, skills and groups?

If you want to create or edit multiple users at the same time, you have a few different options: