Changing data retention settings

In the Data Retention area of Vonage Contact Center (VCC) Admin Portal, a user with an admin license can change automatic deletion settings for interaction content. The admin user can override the contracted period up to its maximum value. The user can also turn on or pause deletion for a given account in specific situations, such as a legal obligation.

In this page

Turning on automatic deletion

To turn on automatic deletion for an account, perform the following steps:

1. Log in to the VCC Admin Portal as an admin user. For information about logging in to the VCC Admin Portal, see Logging in to the Vonage Contact Center Admin Portal.

2. From the VCC Admin Portal homepage, move your mouse pointer over the menu icons on the left of the page.
In the menu that appears, click Data Retention. Data Retention appears with a warning message. The message informs you that automatic deletion is paused for your account.

3. In Automatic deletion, click On to turn on automatic deletion. Optionally change the number of days in Automatically delete content older than.

4. Select the check box to confirm you have read and understood the service description and the impact of the changes you are about to apply.

5. Click Save. A confirmation dialog box appears.

6. Type the number of retention days in the confirmation field. The number must be the same as in the Automatically delete content older than field, otherwise VCC displays an error message. Click Confirm to confirm changes to your data retention settings.

A confirmation message appears. Automatic deletion is Pending and will remain in this state for 30 days after which it will be On. For information about automatic deletion states, see Automatic deletion states in Overview of Data Retention. Your name and the current date and time appear in Last update.

Pausing automatic deletion

You should only pause automatic deletion in exceptional circumstances, such as a legal obligation or to arrange a change to the contracted retention period. Your instruction to pause will remain valid for 30 days. During this time, you will be able to download content or contact your account manager to purchase a longer period. After 30 days, Vonage reserves the right to turn on automatic deletion using the current contracted value.

To pause automatic deletion for an account, perform the following steps:

1. Log in to the VCC Admin Portal as an admin user. For information about logging in to the VCC Admin Portal, see Logging in to the Vonage Contact Center Admin Portal.

2. From the VCC Admin Portal homepage, move your mouse pointer over the menu icons on the left of the page.
In the menu that appears, click Data Retention. Data Retention appears.

3. In Automatic deletion, click Paused to pause deletion.

4. In Reason for pausing automatic deletion, type a reason for pausing automatic deletion.

5. Select the check box to confirm you have read and understood the service description and the impact of the changes you are about to apply.

6. Click Save.

7. Type PAUSE (case-sensitive) in the confirmation field and click Confirm to confirm changes to your data retention settings.

A message to confirm pausing of automatic deletion appears. Automatic deletion is Paused. Your name and the current date and time appear in Last update. A warning message appears in Data Retention and on the VCC Admin Portal homepage, and a warning icon appears next to the Data Retention menu item.

Changing the retention period

You can only change the retention period if Automatic deletion is On or Pending. You cannot change the retention period if Automatic deletion is Paused

To change the retention period (up to the value of contracted retention), perform the following steps:

1. Log in to the VCC Admin Portal as an admin user. For information about logging in to the VCC Admin Portal, see Logging in to the Vonage Contact Center Admin Portal.

2. From the VCC Admin Portal homepage, move your mouse pointer over the menu icons on the left of the page.

3. In the menu that appears, click Data Retention.

4. Change the retention period in Automatically delete content older than. Type the number of days you want Vonage to store your data for, up to the contracted number.

You cannot exceed the contracted period. Contact your VCC account manager to purchase an extension to your contracted retention period.

5. Select the check box to confirm you have read and understood the service description and the impact of the changes you are about to apply.

6. Click Save. A confirmation dialog box appears.

7. Type the number of days you wish to change your settings to into the confirmation field. The number must be the same as in the Automatically delete content older than field, otherwise VCC displays an error message. Click Confirm to confirm changes to your data retention settings.

8. A message confirming changes to your settings appears. Automatic deletion is Pending and will remain in this state for 30 days. For information about automatic deletion states, see Automatic deletion states in Overview of Data Retention. Your name and the current date and time appear in Last update.

Vonage does not provide refunds for reducing the retention period.

Changing the contracted retention period

The contracted retention period is the maximum period Vonage stores your data for, according to your Data Retention Service Description. Your account manager can change—extend or reduce—the contracted retention period if agreed with Vonage. When the contracted period changes, VCC pauses automatic deletion for the account. A warning message appears in both the Data Retention area and on the VCC Admin Portal homepage. The message prompts you to review the new value in Data Retention. You must turn on deletion and confirm your data retention settings. For information about turning on automatic deletion, see Turning on automatic deletion earlier in this page.

You cannot extend the contracted period yourself. If you try to do so, a warning message appears and the Save button is unavailable, preventing you from saving the changes. To extend the contracted data retention period, contact your account manager.

Contracted data retention settings updated