Raising a Right to be Forgotten request for Vonage to process

Vonage Contact Center now supports the ability for you to raise any 'right to be forgotten (RTBF)' requests made by your customers. This feature anonymizes or removes the personal data stored in VCC databases in a permanent, irrevocable, one-way change. This data includes call recordings and their related data, for example, transcriptions, and voicemails. The underlying data still supports your statistics in Vonage Contact Center but can no longer be tied to the customer who raised the request.

Records, containing personal data, that can be deleted are permanently removed.

Records, containing personal data, that cannot be deleted—for example, some records are required for correct reporting in Stats and Reports—have any personal data permanently anonymized. In such cases, the personal data is replaced with a token. The original personal data can never be retrieved from the token.

Data from third parties that is stored in data sources and then mapped to a single name (using Data Source Mappings), cannot be anonymized or deleted at this time.

Vonage Contact Center processes any requests within the bounds of your currently logged in account only, so if you have multiple accounts you may need to raise the request in each account to ensure complete coverage.

Only supervisors have the ability to raise RTBF requests.

If you use Vonage Contact Center or Vonage Contact Center products in Salesforce, you must remove any personal data from Salesforce yourself. For information about where to find this data, see Where to find personal data used by Vonage Contact Center in Salesforce.

In this page

How do I raise a Right to be Forgotten (RTBF) request?

In Vonage Contact Center, as a supervisor you can raise any RTBF requests you receive.

To raise an RTBF request, perform the following steps:

  1. Log in to the VCC Admin Portal. For information about logging in to the VCC Admin Portal, see Logging in to the Vonage Contact Center Admin Portal.
    If you are the supervisor of more than one account, select the account that you want to access Audit Log for, and click Select.
    Vonage Contact Center appears.
  2. Go to Audit Log (within Administration). Audit Log appears
  3. Go to System Audit (within Administration). System Audit appears.
  4. In the menu, click System Audit. System Audit appears.
  5. In the Right to be Forgotten section, click Right to be Forgotten. Right to be Forgotten appears.
    Right to be Forgotten section
  6. In Personal Identifier, type the personal data that identifies the customer to be forgotten.
    Examples of personal data include:
    • Telephone number
    • Email address
    • Twitter handle
  7. Click Forget. A confirmation box appears.
  8. To submit the request, type FORGET and click Confirm.

    Confirm prompt

    You are responsible for validating your customers' requests before you confirm your request.

    The page refreshes and your request appears in the Pending Jobs list.

  9. Repeat steps 4-6 for any other formats of the same personal data. For example, if you are using a customer’s telephone number to identify the customer, you may need to enter the number in multiple formats, such as 01234556688, +44123455668 and 00441234556688, to ensure that all relevant data is anonymized or removed.

Vonage Contact Center validates your request before processing it. For example, Vonage will not process a request that uses a phone number for the account you are currently logged in to.

After the request has been successfully submitted, Vonage Contact Center adds it to your account’s queue for deletion. After a grace period of 180 hours (7.5 days)—during which time you can retract your request in case of an error—Vonage Contact Center anonymizes or deletes records, or both, without undue delay. Completed requests disappear from the queue.

Vonage Contact Center cannot distinguish between complete interactions and interactions that are in progress. If you raise a request using a value in Personal Identifier that relates to an in-progress interaction—for example, using an email address that identifies an open case—Vonage Contact Center anonymizes or removes the personal data from the interaction. So, before you raise a request, ensure that any interactions are completed. Otherwise you will not be able to later locate the interaction using the personal identifier.

How do I stop processing a Right to be Forgotten (RTBF) request?

In Vonage Contact Center, as a supervisor, you can cancel an RTBF request that you or any other supervisors in your account have raised. You can cancel any request as long as Vonage Contact Center has not started to process it. Requests that Vonage Contact Center has not started to process appear in the Pending Jobs list with a status of New. A Cancel Request button is also available alongside the request. Requests that Vonage Contact Center has started to process appear in the Pending Jobs list with a status of In progress. No Cancel Request button is available alongside the request.

To cancel an RTBF request, perform the following steps:

  1. Log in to the VCC Admin Portal. For information about logging in to the VCC Admin Portal, see Logging in to the Vonage Contact Center Admin Portal.
    If you are the supervisor of more than one account, select the account that you want to access Audit Log for, and click Select.
    Vonage Contact Center appears.
  2. Go to Audit Log (within Administration). Audit Log appears.
  3. In the Right to be Forgotten section, click Right to be Forgotten. Right to be Forgotten appears.
  4. Find the request you want to cancel in the Pending Jobs list.
    Pending jobs
  5. Check the status of the request—if status is New, to cancel the request, click Cancel Request. The page refreshes and the request no longer appears in the Pending Jobs list.